The most important & top-notch thing is that its Recreational use is very much illegal in Oklahoma, with a possession fine of up to $50 but, marijuana can still be legally acquired for medicinal uses. However, before that can happen, there has to be a legal identification to prove that the individual in possession is actually using it for medical reasons. This identification is the MMJ card or license issued by the OMMA.
Getting an MMJ Card in Oklahoma entails a regulated process. Before applying for a MMJ card/ license, here are some essential things you must know.
Oklahoma, unlike other states in the US, does not have a long list of qualifying conditions. All that is needed is a doctor’s recommendation for the condition which they believe is a fit for MMJ treatment.
The most common medical conditions, for which doctors can prescribe 420 Evaluations , include;
To legally possess an MMJ Card in Oklahoma, you need to be at least 18 years old. Other essential requirements include a valid proof of identity, colored digital passport photograph, and a recommendation from a licensed physician
After getting a valid 420 Evaluations Recommendation, you can proceed to submit an application on the OMMA website. When your recommendation and approval are validated, you will get a medical card mailed to you within 14 days of submission.
The licensed recommendation form must be dated within 30 days of a patient applying to the state program. Anyone under 18 must have a caregiver who will submit an application to the state and register themselves as licensed caregivers to purchase 420 Evaluations products for the patient.
A patient is allowed to purchase up to a 30-day quantity of MMJ from any licensed dispensary. They can also possess up to 3 ounces of MMJ in public.
At home, patients are allowed to store up to 8 ounces of medical marijuana. Patients are also allowed to grow up to six mature plants and have 6 seedlings, one ounce of concentrates, and 72 ounces of edibles in their private residence.
Each patient license costs $100 (or $20 for those on Medicaid, Medicare, or Sooner Care) and it lasts for two years. Temporary patient licenses last for 30 days and cost $100.
The law intends to regulate the use of 420 Evaluations while also making provisions for its safe usage. Furthermore, the law aims to protect MMJ users, particularly in the workplace. The law’s provisions strike a compromise between businesses and organizations that hire MMJ patients and the patients themselves. It also aims to protect the public from the threats posed by persons who are impaired by 420 Evaluations usage.
Under state laws, employers cannot discriminate against their employees based on their status as MMJ users. Employees and potential employees with a valid MMJ license cannot be discriminated against, terminated, penalized, or fail recruitment processes because they tested positive for marijuana or its components.
The expiry date for MMJ Cards is on the cards and when your MMJ card expires, you can get a renewal.
To renew your license, you must submit an online renewal application to be reviewed by OMMA. You need to use the same email included in the initial registration and provide your state-issued I.D and doctor’s signature. If it is deemed complete and valid, an approval letter with your new license will be mailed within 14 business days of the application submission date.
The renewal application fee is $100. To avoid complications, it is advised that you apply for a renewal 30 days before the expiration date.